Camp Hanes

On Thursday, September 29, we went to Camp Hanes for one night. We got to DA at around 7:45 in the morning. It was cold. Soon, we got into advisories and then got onto the buses. I was on bus one. It was a 2.5 hour drive. We watched Madagascar on the way there & traded snacks. It was fun.

Our first activity was at 1:00. I hiked up a mountain and could see all the way to Winston-Salem. There was a beautiful view. It took about 30 minutes, & there were two steep sections. The first one was about 10 feet and had a rope. The second steep section was about 30 feet, & had a lot of zig-zags. We could see all of Camp Hanes too.

I really enjoyed the hike, but we couldn’t do rock climbing or archery because of the storm. The cafeteria food was good. There were a lot of pop-tarts. I had chicken nuggets and mac & cheese for lunch. We had spaghetti for dinner & I had bacon & eggs for breakfast. Canoeing was a little bit hard. I had never done it before. I had kayaked, so that made it a bit easier. I played basketball a lot in between activities.

On the bus back, we watched Ratatouille. We also talked a lot. The bus wobbled a lot because of Hurricane Ian. We left early because of the hurricane. When we got home, We spent another three hours at school, & then finally went home. It was fun overall.

2 thoughts on “Camp Hanes

  1. What a great essay! My favorite part of this was that you mentioned the hurricane. It really ruined the camp but it was still fun.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *